Standing Ovation, which first debuted in 2010, is DC Public Education Fund’s hallmark teacher recognition event. Each year, DCPS’ highly-effective teachers, leaders, and school communities are recognized at the iconic John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Lauded as the nation’s premiere educator award ceremony, Standing Ovation both shines a spotlight on DCPS’ talented teaching force and elevates the teaching profession as a whole.

Standing Ovation 2017 welcomed back host Tim Gunn, and an array of award presenters including Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton, author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Stranger Things’ David Harbour, and Kennedy Center President Deborah Rutter. Guests enjoyed an energetic opening performance from the Ballou High School Majestic Knights Marching Band and a dynamic dance number from DCPS students and members of Company E. The evening concluded with Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Andra Day’s soulful rendition of her hit single “Rise Up” — a fitting tribute for a school district on the rise.

DC Ed Fund proudly hosts Standing Ovation and partners with the greater Washington, DC community—business leaders, civic officials, corporate partners, and philanthropic champions—to salute the progress of the public schools in our nation’s capital.

Anita Berger
2016 Principal of the Year

Jan Schuettpelz
2016 Teacher of the Year

Burt Lancaster
2016 School Staff Member of the Year

David Gesualdi
2016 Award Winner for Excellence in Classroom Innovation

Ann Brigioli
2016 Award Winner for Excellence in Service

Stanton Elementary
2016 Award Winner for Excellence in Family Engagement

Truesdell Education Campus
2016 Award Winner for Excellence in School Innovation

Bancroft Elementary School
2016 Award Winner for Excellence by an Academic Leadership Team

Standing Ovation is not possible without the generous support of our sponsors!